Harper’s 1st birthday

Last weekend we celebrated our sweet little Harper’s first birthday and also had her baby dedication. Blake’s parents, brother and sister-in-law came from Kansas. My parents, aunt and uncle were also there. We also had some friends and neighbors join us as well. That day I felt like everything was as it should be – our home was full of family and friends, our bellies were full of good food, and our hearts were overflowing with love. Cheesy as that may sound, it was true and I could not have been happier.

DSC_0513

suddenlyinspired | pink gold black twinkle little star birthday party dessert table

bday pics (3)

My mom did an amazing job decorating the cakes. I sent her some Pinterest pictures, and she totally nailed it.

bday pics (4)

I had fun decorating the dessert table. The colors were pink, gold, and black, with a star theme.

bday table

bday pics (2) bday pics (5)

high chair

I also couldn’t resist making a little party hat and decorating the chalkboard.

bday hattwinkle twinkle little star you've grown so much and come so far birthday chalkboard

Sunday morning was church and Harper’s baby dedication. I had to write down the words I wanted to say because I get nervous talking in front of people and was feeling emotional about everything. I feel like ever since having kids I cry at the drop of a hat. Blake totally winged his portion of it, and he did great. That sums up a lot of our relationship – me diligently planning and he breezing through effortlessly. It used to drive me nuts when we were in college, but I’ve come to appreciate how good he is at life. Our church family has been so supportive and really lifted us up in a time of need when Harper was born prematurely. It was a special moment to stand before them and dedicate our child and reflect on God’s grace.

photo 1

LNP---Hillside1 LNP---Hillside11 LNP---Hillside13

Good things. Then after church we headed to Five Guys to stuff our faces.

What do you think?